Menu
MC3 > Journal > International Conference on Climate and Territories, mobilisation of society

International Conference on Climate and Territories, mobilisation of society

— 29 October 2015, by Elodie Briche

Ahead of the COP21 which will take place in Paris in December 2015, the international conference on climate and territories took place in Lyon on the 2nd and 3rd of July 2015.

The objectives of the conference were as follow:

  • To present the concrete commitments made by all territorial stakeholders. For instance, the reduction of greenhouse gas emission announced by the city of Lyon should contribute to the credibility of the scenario in which global warming is limited to an increase of 2°C.
  • To support detailed proposals aimed at integrating territorial stakeholders ‘commitments within the agreement made in Paris.

In the opening session, the president of the Rhône-Alpes region congratulated the success of the event and highlighted the importance of collective support for the success of the COP21. Mickael Bloomberg, former mayor of New York City, evoked the summit of local governments held also in Paris in conjunction with the COP21. He stressed that cities can afford to take three times more initiatives to face climate change and ensure the effectiveness of the adopted measures. He also pointed out the importance of the “Covenant of Mayors”, in which explicit objectives are decided and the active participation of cities is implemented, aside from their own priorities and challenges.

In the session called “decentralised cooperation and partnership between regions”, the importance of networking between regions and of the partnership between local stakeholders to “share resilience” was raised. It is a question of finding and implementing solutions that will permit to work at different scales and at multi-level. A number of applied “good practices” was presented as examples:

  • The partnership between the region of Dakar (Senegal) and the regional council (Conseil Régional) of Ile-de-France: the region of Dakar has called on the regional council to build their integrated territorial climate plan (ITCP, the first in Africa). This ITCP concerns both mitigating climate change and adapting to its impact.
  • The partnership between the state of Minas Gerais (Brasil) and the Nord Pas de Calais region (France): this decentralised cooperation partnership focuses on the development of an ITCP for the brasilian region that is directed at climate change adaptation and reduction of greenhouse gases. This project has been led by two environmental agencies, the Agency for the Environment and Energy Management (ADEME, France) and the State of Minas Gerais Environment Foundation (FEAM, Brasil).

The intergovernmental agency of the Francophonie has committed funds to 100 cities for 2020 and, since 2010, 4 billions of euros have already been used in urban projects addressing climate change adaptation and mitigation, notably by integrating cities of the South.

On the 1st july, in the afternoon, three sessions took place on the theme “climate: the society mobilised”. In the second session, titled “youth and climate: giving voice to the leaders of the future”, young representatives of different continents shared their experiences. They were able to present concrete examples of local and regional solutions. For instance, Charles-Hugo Maziade from the Canadian Arden Forest Cooperative presented his work on an educative approach to face climate change and to contribute to the carbon exchange. His work involves essentially 9 to 12 years old pupils who can also contribute by influencing their family.

Other activities also took place in Lyon (France) to demonstrate some of the possible applications, e.g. visits of the eco-neighbourhood of La Duchère or of Confluence (which is a carbon-free area), etc.

The importance of support to elected local authorities as a first course of action in facing climate change has been greatly underlined, so as the potential of economic stimulation from economic change, beyond the problematic aspect. Finally, this summit allowed China to demonstrate its commitment in the COP21.

Menu
MC3 > Journal > Sommet mondial Climat et territoires, la société en mouvement

Sommet mondial Climat et territoires, la société en mouvement

— 29 octobre 2015, par Elodie Briche

En amont de la COP21 qui aura lieu à Paris en décembre 2015, le sommet mondial Climat et territoires, la société en mouvement s’est déroulé à Lyon les 2 et 3 juillet 2015.

Les objectifs du sommet étaient les suivants :

  • Présenter les engagements concrets pris par l’ensemble des acteurs territoriaux. Les annonces de réduction de gaz à effet de serre faites à Lyon doivent contribuer à crédibiliser le scénario de limitation du réchauffement de la planète à 2°C.
  • Défendre des propositions précises pour que les engagements des acteurs territoriaux puissent trouver leur place dans un accord ambitieux à Paris.

La session d’ouverture a été introduite par une allocution du président de la région Rhône-Alpes, félicitant l’ampleur de la rencontre et l’importance du soutien collectif pour la réussite de la Cop 21. Michael Bloomberg, ex-maire de New-York a évoqué le sommet des gouvernements locaux prévu à Paris en marge de la Cop21 et a insisté sur le fait que les villes ont les moyens de prendre trois fois plus d’initiatives dans la lutte contre le changement climatique, et de donner une certaine efficacité aux mesures prises. Il est également revenu sur l’importance du pacte mondial des maires, cadre appelant à fixer des objectifs explicites et à mettre en œuvre la participation des villes ; chaque ville ayant également ses défis propres.

La session « coopération décentralisée et partenariats entre territoires » a insisté sur l’importance de la mise en réseau des territoires et du partenariat entre les acteurs locaux pour « partager de la résilience ». Il s’agit de trouver des solutions et de les mettre en œuvre afin de travailler à d’autres échelles et des multi-niveaux. Plusieurs « bonnes pratiques » mises en place ont été présentées à titre d’exemple, notamment :

  • Le partenariat entre la région de Dakar (Sénégal) et le Conseil Régional d’Ile de France (France) : la région de Dakar a sollicité la région Ile de France pour l’élaboration de son plan climat territorial intégré (PCTI, le premier en Afrique). Ce PCTI concerne autant l’atténuation que l’adaptation au changement climatique.
  • Le partenariat entre l’état du Minas Gerais (Brésil) et la région Nord Pas de Calais (France) : ce partenariat de coopération décentralisée est orienté autour de l’élaboration d’un PCTI dans l’Etat Brésilien, portant sur l’adaptation au changement climatique et la réduction des émissions. Ce projet a été porté par deux agences pour l’environnement, l’ADEME (France) et la FEAM (Minais Gérais).

L’agence de la Francophonie s’est engagée à financer 100 villes pour 2020, quatre milliards d’euros étant déjà libérés pour des projets urbains d’adaptation et d’atténuation depuis 2010 en intégrant les villes du Sud.

Durant l’après-midi du 1er juillet, trois sessions ont eu lieu concernant « climat : la société en mouvement ».
La session 2, intitulée « Jeunesse et climat : la parole aux responsables de demain », a présenté les témoignages de jeunes représentants des différents continents. Ils ont pu exposer la mise en place de solutions concrètes locales et régionales. Par exemple, le canadien Charles-Hugo Maziade de la Coopérative Forêt d’Arden a présenté son travail basé sur une approche éducative pour faire face au changement climatique et contribuer à la bourse du carbone. Son travail se déroule essentiellement dans les écoles auprès de jeunes de 9 à 12 ans qui ont la faculté de pouvoir influencer leur famille.

Différentes activités ont également eu lieu au sein de la ville de Lyon afin de montrer les exemples d’applications possibles, comme la visite de l’éco-quartier de La Duchère, celle du quartier de Confluence (« territoire zéro carbone »), etc.

L’importance du soutien aux élus locaux comme première ligne d’action face au changement climatique a été largement soulignée, de même que le potentiel de stimulation économique du changement économique, au-delà de l’aspect problématique. Enfin, ce sommet a été l’occasion pour la Chine de dévoiler son engagement dans la COP21.